Technology is meaningless

by

Last week was a hard week for me.  The Lord took a hold of my career and pointed it in a different direction on Tuesday.  Thankfully, I didn’t lose my job, but pretty much everything I’ve built for the last seven years is something to get out of within my new organization, not something to continue and grow.  It is a business decision, and while I may disagree with it, it is not my decision specifically to make. But, as I was doing my impression of Jacob wrestling with God this week He reminded me of two things that He shows me all the time that I keep forgetting:

  1. He is taking care of me and my family – I have lost count of the times I can directly see His hand in my life but for some reason I need to be reminded of it all the time.
  2. Technology is meaningless – Technology is a tool, it always changes, and always fails eventually. To invest one’s life in technology of any kind is vanity.

I was reminded of the saying: the two only things that last forever are the Word of God and the souls of men (never been able to find a definitive reference for that saying).  If I’m to invest in something, regardless of how, it should be those two things. For us who are working in His ministry using technology we (should) understand this – we are using technology, ostensibly, for His purposes.  It doesn’t matter what CMS/Blog Engine we’re using, or if (or not) we’re using Twitter, Facebook, PHP, Java, Ruby… none of this matters.  The only thing that matters is where you are with God and what you are doing to follow His direction for your life.  If you’re using technology in your ministry, great!  But don’t lose the focus that what we’re doing with our ministries and our technologies should be showing people Christ’s love and their need for Him or encouraging the faith of of our brothers and sisters.

Technology, in and of itself, is meaningless.  Use technology, learn technology, but don’t invest your life in technology.  Invest your life in the only thing that will last – Jesus Christ.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

